Life Lesson #123… Be Accepting!

girl-463462_640

 

 

Life Lesson #123 – Be Accepting!

I don’t know about you, but when I was a child I was told to never accept anything from anyone.  Maybe it was a generational thing passed down from my grandparents to my parents?  Maybe they believed that if you take “gifts” from others it was a sign of weakness or charity?  Honestly, I never asked.  I just did what I was told. In fact, to this day I still can’t accept a complement!

What I have learned and continue to learn every day is that there are many people in this world who are kind, giving, and loving individuals that truly want the best for others. I am both proud of myself for realizing this phenomenon, yet embarrassed that it took me this long to figure out.  I thought by not accepting what was offered, I was being benevolent.  I supposed that the act of giving was simply just that, an act.   Turns out, I was wrong. It is the exact opposite.  Just a few weeks ago, yes that is what I said; a few weeks ago I finally understood!

Someone who I love, she knows who she is, bought me a present which I could not accept.  I told her that I appreciated the thought but it was totally unnecessary and that she should take it back to the store.  I really believed in my heart that she understood my way of thinking.  Wrong again!

Unbeknownst to me she was taught the reverse, like so many others; another lesson learned. And by dismissing her generosity, I insulted her. Someone whom I never wish to hurt in any way.  Lucky for me, she spoke her mind and told me to accept it and be grateful.  At the time it didn’t even register in my head! I have been so programmed in my thinking that I could not even process it.  How many others have felt the same way as she did when I said no thanks?  I rejected her when I rejected the gift.  How awful am I!  Here was someone that I love, doing a kind and munificent act, and I selfishly refused it.  Got it! Lesson learned!

They say you can’t teach an old dog (or human) new tricks.  Not true.  Accepting others kindness and generosity is more of a gift than the one that is given!  As a nonprofit owner, I give back and I love it.  It is what feeds my soul and passion to keep moving forward.  For the past year since starting Open Door Publishing, I reach out every single day (mostly on social media) asking complete strangers for help, guidance, and donations.  Since this is all so new to me, I rely on advice from experts in their fields to help me build my company and find creative ways (due to budget constraints) to print my stories.  Though fueled by my passion, I have to stop and ask for directions along the way.  There have been so many (and continue to be) who have shared their knowledge and given me guidance.  I am forever grateful and want to recognize just a few of them right now.  Jack Herbert, Patricia Fry, Becky Starr, Natalie Plappert, and Lisa Horowitz.   I am overwhelmed by your generosity.

As I have said, learning is a never ending process. The lesson I wish to share in this blog is for you, like me, to learn to be as accepting of yourself as you are accepting of others.  Kindness, generosity, and love are essential to everyone and everything.

How to “Be Accepting”… It is as easy as 1, 2, 3.

  1. Believe that we are never too old to learn something new.
  2. Trust that it is just as important to receive as it is to give.
  3. Accept gifts that are offered both literally and figuratively.

I would love for you to share the lessons you have learned about acceptance. I look forward to reading and accepting what you have to say.

3 thoughts on “Life Lesson #123… Be Accepting!

  1. This is a very good life lesson! One of the things that I have experienced is that when someone offers to pay for your lunch or dinner, you let them and just say thank you. My friend told me she hates it when someone says numerous times no or offers to pay over and over. She said that’s annoying and wouldn’t have offered in the first place if she didn’t mean it. 🙂

    Like

  2. Important life lessons shared! To me the most extraordinary kind of giving is being able to intuitively know what a person needs and give it. 4 years ago, after terrible storm, two trees were felled in our yard. I shared the news with a friend and without either of us asking she and her sons showed up with tools and helped.

    Like

  3. it makes me happy to be able to give something to someone. When I am depressed or sad or overwhelmed, I’ll often consider sending a gift to a friend.. it brightens my day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

